LAFCO of Monterey County

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF MONTEREY COUNTY

2018

Commissioners

Chair

Simón Salinas County Member

Vice Chair

Warren E. Poitras Special District Member

> Sherwood Darington Public Member

Matt Gourley Public Member, Alternate

> Joe Gunter City Member

Maria Orozco City Member, Alternate

> Jane Parker County Member

John Phillips County Member, Alternate

> Ralph Rubio City Member

Vacant Special District Member Alternate

Graig R. Stephens Special District Member

Counsel

Leslie J. Girard

General Counsel

Executive Officer

Kate McKenna, AICP

132 W. Gabilan Street, #102 Salinas, CA 93901

> P. O. Box 1369 Salinas, CA 93902

Voice: 831-754-5838 Fax: 831-754-5831

www.monterey.lafco.ca.gov

MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 3, 2018

TO: Independent Special District General Managers, Fire Chiefs and CEOs

FROM: Kate McKenna, AICP, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Call for Nominations of Candidates to Fill Two Special District Seats on LAFCO (Due by February 1, 2018) –

(1) Regular Member Seat (Term Expires May 2022)

(2) Alternate Member Seat (Remainder Term Expires May 2020)

Instructions to District General Managers and Presidents/CEOs

Please forward this Call for Nominations to your District's Board of Directors or Trustees. Qualified individuals may submit their own nominations by returning the attached form to the LAFCO Office by **February 1 at 5:00 p.m.**

Call for Nominations

This is a call for nominations for candidates to fill two Special District seats on the Local Agency Formation Commission of Monterey County. One seat is a Special District Representative (Regular) seat with a four-year term that will expire in May 2022. This seat is currently held by Graig R. Stephens (Soledad Community Health Care District), and the term is expiring in May 2018. The second seat is the Special District Representative (Alternate) to LAFCO. This seat was vacated by Steve Snodgrass because he was not re-appointed to the Pajaro/Sunny Mesa Community Services District Board of Directors. The Alternate seat has a remaining term that will expire in May 2020. Please note that the Special District Representative (Regular) seat held by Warren E. Poitras (Monterey County Regional Fire Protection District) is NOT open for nominations.

Selection Process and Schedule

A qualified Director/Trustee may nominate himself or herself as a candidate to serve on LAFCO. Please return the completed nomination form by February 1. No Board action is required for a nomination. After the close of the nomination period, the LAFCO Office will prepare a ballot listing the qualified candidates. Each District will receive a mail-in ballot and voting instructions in February. All Boards of Directors/Trustees will be requested to vote and return a signed ballot. Depending on the number of qualified candidates and to ensure diversity in representation, the voting process may require sequential ballots. The new representatives will be seated by May 2018.

Candidate Qualifications

By policy, all three Special District LAFCO representatives should reflect a broad cross-section of services and geography, and no two Commissioners shall be from agencies that provide like services. Therefore, candidates for this election shall not be from a Fire District. Also, each candidate must be an elected or appointed board member of a Monterey County independent special district, residing within the County, and not a member of a legislative body of a city or county.

Please contact me if you have any questions about the selection process or qualifications. Thank you and best wishes for a Happy New Year.

Attachment: Nomination Form and Candidate Statement